The Idea

Posted: March 28, 2011 in Inspiration, Writing
Tags: , ,

The Idea.

That’s where it all starts, one little thought bouncing around in my head, inspired by music, an event, a sight, a taste, or an emotion. It can bounce between the walls in my head for weeks and even months before crashing into my frontal lobe, cracking my skull and spilling onto the page as just another unfinished THING to add to my growing list of unfinished THINGS. THING 2300 or 2400, I’ve lost many ideas over the years because I did not write them down. I have a tendency to let a THING germinate in my head until I think they are fully formed, but not all of them get that far and so they end up being lost in the mushy brain matter that floats inside my skull.

Orchid

FIRST RULE OF WRITING: Write!! Get the idea down on paper, then let it germinate and grow and bloom.

Leave a Reply

