Why I Use a Pen

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Writing
Tags: , , ,

Why use a pen? Shouldn’t you be able to afford a computer to write/type your stories? What the hell is wrong with you? You do know this is the 21st Century?

Let me answer some of these questions. Yes, I own a computer, I am using it to write this blog. I don’t think anything is wrong with me, well O.K. there are many things wrong with me, but none that deal with using a pen to write out stories before transcribing them into bits and bytes. Is it really the 21st Century? It sometimes does not feel like it, we should have much cooler technology by now. Why hasn’t the Government figured out the anti-gravity technology that they captured from the aliens in Roswell? There should be a colony on the moon by now (Space 1999 anyone?).

To answer the first question: Why use a pen? That is the big question. There has been research that people who write things in longhand remember the text better (Lifehacker: Why You Learn More Effectively by Writing Than Typing), which is true for me, but when writing a story, do I really need to remember it? If I was to write on the computer, a copy would be saved, so I could reread it if I forget where I was in the story.

Pen and Paper: The Blank Page

So why do I use a pen?

  1. It’s an old school, thing, I grew up doing it that way, and back in High School I used a typewriter to get it looking nice on a piece of paper.
  2. If I get stuck for a minute or two I can create a doodle on paper while thinking about what comes next. On the computer I am more likely to open a web browser and waste an hour or so reading news and opinion sites.
  3. I can write longer when using a pen and paper than when using a computer. After typing on the computer for a while the glowing light begins to hurt my eyes and I have to stop. My pen and paper do not and I can write for a much longer time.
  4. I can easily carry around my pen and notepad, carrying around a laptop is more of a pain and I worry more about it going missing and losing all of my work.
Leave a Reply

