I Clean the Cat Box

Posted: March 3, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , ,

litter boxWhen no one is looking
and the cat is away,
I clean the cat box.

When I rise in the morning
and all throughout the day,
I clean the cat box.

When the house is asleep
and the moon lights the way,
I clean the cat box.

When I lay my head down
and dream the night away,
I clean the cat box.

You may wonder what this silly little poem has to do with anything. But your brain is always categorizing and cleaning out the shit and piss of information in your daily life. When you unfollow or defriend someone you are cleaning your litter box, removing the waste.

You must do the same in your writing. After writing the first draft of your masterpiece there will be words, paragraphs, maybe even whole sections, that are just shit. They need to be cleaned, rewritten and improved. It’s an important part of the writing process, take the time to do it right.

Copyright © 2013 J. Power

All rights reserved.

Comments
  1. patwa says:

    I can relate. I check the box, see if Moo left a cat-patty, but no, she’s out with the ‘possum, her friend ‘neath the shed, in a wet dirt bed.

Leave a Reply

